top of page

A review of Drunk Elephant's "Umbra Sheer Physical Daily Defense SPF 30." (old formula

Sunscreens are arguably the most important step in your morning skincare routine. The sun's harmful ultraviolet rays are the prime causes for skin cancer as well as premature ageing. In fact, most of the sun's damage is an accumulation in our teen years that only appear when we're older.

It is very, very important to wear sunscreen whenever sunlight is going to hit any part of your skin, indoors or outdoors, no exceptions.

For some, especially me, the sunscreen step is the most difficult and annoying part of a morning skincare routine because it determines how you'll look (with or without makeup) throughout the day. I never skimp on sunscreen and neither should you! That's why I al ways make sure to slather on the advisable (1/4 tsp) amount.

It isn't easy to find a holy-grail sunscreen. Most of the sunscreens I've tried (90% of the time) end up in the trash bin, and Drunk Elephant's Umbra SPF 30 (old formula), unfortunately, is no exception. First, let's talk about the packaging.

Packaging

Packaging

The tube looks pleasingly white with cute, intricate symbols that adorn both sides of the container. It comes in a 3.3 fl oz that costs around $34.00, depending where you buy it from. It has a blue screw on top that I find to be the only redeeming quality of this product since it helps to effectively avoid unintentional spillage. The top, pointy corner of the tube, however, proved to be more flimsy as it broke and caused massive spillage when I brought it with me to a get-away vacation to the beach. On the back of the tube lies your usual Drug Facts.

Ingredients

Umbra Physical's ingredients list

Looking at the ingredients list, it easily contains one of the most (or THE MOST) amount of anti-aging ingredients in a sunscreen I have ever bought or have for/in my skincare routine. There are actually two reasons why I bought this product: 1.) because it's mineral based and less-likely to irritate my skin (20% zinc oxide) and 2.) because of all those amazing antioxidants! Studies show that not only do antioxidants reduce free-radical damage, they also boost a sunscreen's effectiveness! It looks good on paper...but does it also deliver in practical application? There is a saying: "the proof is in the pudding," and this could not be more true!

Product Claims

WHAT IT IS: A sheer physical sunscreen that delivers powerful broad spectrum UVA/UVB protection and helps aid in the prevention of free radical and oxidative damage as well as photoaging for a more youthful-looking complexion.

WHAT IT IS FORMULATED TO DO:Umbra is a physical daily sunscreen loaded with potent antioxidants like astaxanthin, grape juice extract and sunflower shoot extract to help defend from free radicals and environmental aggressors. Infused with raspberry seed and marula oils, Umbra delivers essential moisture and helps minimize the look of fine lines and wrinkles, leaving your skin looking healthy and youthful. This unique formulation is ideal for daily use and won't leave any ghost-like white residue or greasiness. Our new and improved texture melts into skin, feels lightweight and is virtually invisible.

WHAT ELSE YOU NEED TO KNOW: It is really difficult to formulate a physical sunscreen without using chemical screens or silicones, but we have done just that with our award-winning formula. This physical sunscreen is formulated without any chemical sunscreens, which can be sensitizing and not as beneficial to skin as the naturally-derived alternative, zinc oxide. Umbra™ is non-irritating, non-sensitizing and totally free of fragrance and essential oils, suitable for all skin tones and types, including the most sensitive.

Review

It took about three months for me to empty a single tube. I ended up using most of the product on my body rather than on my face. Let me first discuss the absolute deal-breaker with this sunscreen: the pilling! No matter the amount that I put on my face or the way I applied the product, it always (A L W A Y S) pilled into these eraser-like fillings!

Not to mention the way it made my skin look ghostly-white. To be fair, most 20% and above zinc-based sunscreens will do that to your face. Don't be fooled by the glowing reviews it has regarding its ability to seamlessly blend! I suspect that those who claim about its seamless application are either not wearing the advisable amount or diluting the sunscreen with something, which is never a good thing.

Additionally, it made my face itch and develop weird, inflamed red blotches, despite it having no irritating fragrances and volatile compounds. This sunscreen is marketed for all skin types, but the thickness of it (due to the heavy emulsifiers and oils) caused my oily skin to break out! Despite it being mineral-based, it managed to make eyes water and sting.

This is definitely not ideal for anyone who sweats or lives in hot or humid places. I also don't recommend this as your beach sunscreen since it hasn't been marketed to be water-resistant. I also had to shake it vigorously whenever I would dispense the product since it does separate if it's been left stationary for too long.

It is extremely sticky, remains sticky, and doesn't really dry down to a non-transferable finish.

Foundation over it is also a no-go. Using it alone on skin causes the same problems with pilling and chalkiness. The same problems also apply for the body.

Conclusion

Overall, I would not recommend this product to anyone nor will I repurchase. I have yet to try their other products, but with my terrible first impression with Drunk Elephant and their ludicrous prices, I'm hesitant to try anything from them anytime soon. If you feel inclined to try it for yourself, make sure your skin type is on the drier side. You may benefit from the oily hydration it provides.

Where to buy (click the link below)

Rating

Active Ingredient(s): 20% Zinc Oxide

Ingredients: 4/5

Packaging: 3/5

Application: 1/5

Water resistance: NO

Price: $34.00 - 2/5

Amount: 3.3 fl oz

Recommendation: Do not buy - 1/5

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page